Sort:
866

Reviewer
mr.bob
Review Date
19 years ago (Jan 20, 2004)
Review

Ahh, Im the last!

First of all, this game is great. The graphics, overall, are kinda..'blah' but thats just fine with me, because drawing in ZZT take a long time to make it look cool. However there is one board I liked the art on, it would have to be the dead guy in the water, that board was put me in a state of wow, and set the mood nicely!

Secound the music is nothing to rant about, but its not bad so It does not ruin the game.

Third would be how the people talked and how 'real' they seemed to act in that situation. Its very good and I only found a few things I did not like about it.

Fourth would have to be the battels! They are great and one of a kind! The RPG thing was great and I had hoped I could use more attacks....but no. None the less, the battels were pure cool. One thing, the last boss seemed very.... un last boss-ish. It was very easy. It should have been harder.

Fith is overall and that is pure greatness.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
590
Reviewer
Zanzara
Review Date
19 years, 6 months ago (Jul 20, 2003)
Review

If you like ZZT games with good plots, Wartorn is the game for you. The game has a great plot which puts your character, Kyle, against aliens known as figments. The plot goes on with your character slowing unravling the mystery of the figments. To this day Wartorn is one of my favourite games.

Good: Awesome graphics Awesome storyline Great music Good RPG battles Good puzzles

Bad: Only a couple of characters Easy NO COMPLETED SEQUEL

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
535
Reviewer
The Tee
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (Jun 09, 2003)
Review

This was the first ZZT game that I played (almost when War-Torn came out!) And it set the bar for my ratings REALLY HIGH!! There are no games that can truly compare to this mighty piece of work. This is what made me play all of Madguy's other games. (Burger Joint, Todd's Adventure, download them if you havn't already!!) There is NO sequel. There is a demo to it, but Madguy discontined Ruined World!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bottom Line: WAR-TORN IS A GREAT GAME!!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
428
Reviewer
Asher
Review Date
19 years, 10 months ago (Mar 15, 2003)
Review

THis is a great game. I loved it. I could go on and on and on and on and on...etc. If I could give it a 6 out of 5 I would. This gme inspired me to make THE ALCHEMIST'S PARADOX, which would have been on this site but I forgot the STK. Anyways, I say that WARTORN uses a better storyline than most 'real', non-ZZT games. 5 out of 5!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
401
Reviewer
Raidenzzt
Review Date
19 years, 11 months ago (Feb 23, 2003)
Review

Wartorn was one of the first good Zzt games I have played. When I first saw it I couldnt belive it! The graphics, sound, music, and story fit together very well. The RPG battles are also a blast to play. The only complaint I have is that it eventually comes to an end. Congrats! DL it if you havent!

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
357
Reviewer
MetroName
Review Date
20 years ago (Jan 22, 2003)
Review

The graphics aren't too good but who cares? The story was SO original and it sucked me right in... even if it was far from typical and kind of weird, it still fit really well. The game has a certain fun feel that no other does. And that gives it a 5 on its own.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
155
Reviewer
Quantum P.
Review Date
20 years, 4 months ago (Oct 07, 2002)
Review

This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay and music are both good. The graphics are simple, but well-drawn. Unlike most games, this one was tested and debugged. Madguy deserves a 5.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
120
Reviewer
icel
Review Date
20 years, 4 months ago (Sep 14, 2002)
Review

In this game, you play as Kyle, a young man who has had the unfortunate duty of saving the world from mysterious red-eyed aliens. Meeting up with a girl from a crime-ridden city, you journey from place to place tring to thwart the alien attack.

This is a good game, and alot of effort obviously went into it. It is a linear adventure, with many decent RPG battles thrown in. The battles cut it kinda close, so be sure to stock up on supplies. The art is well-done and gives you a good feel of the game. It could have been darker, though, to give it a more post-apocolyptic feeling. All in all, I recommend this if you like an interesting (but somewhat predictable) story and RPG battles in general.

(+): Long, but entertaining enough to keep your attention. (-): Linear, sometimes confusing, a tad predictable.

Graphics: 4 Sound: 5 Story: 3 Fun: 3 Replay: n/a

Total: 4

Rating
4.00 / 5.00
37
Reviewer
Commodore
Review Date
20 years, 5 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Review

I enjoyed playing Wartorn. The graphics were very well done and the cut scenes are drawn very well. The story was engaging enough and the varity of locations traveled kept it interesting. Wartorn's only draw back is it's battle system. The battles are too dependant on randomisation so that in one battle you can kick an unfair amount of ass and in the next not even get off more than two good hits. Other than that there were a lot of good things. Size being one of them. For an adventure game it was niether to long or too short. Madguy landed the length on the mark.

Rating
4.00 / 5.00
36
Reviewer
Dr. Dos
Review Date
20 years, 5 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Review

From the creator of Burger Joint and Nextgame33 comes a game that truly is a must have. When you reach the age you Kyle must enlist. But what begins as a terrorist who blows up a bus evolves into a plot that has nearly caused the destruction of humanity.

War-Torn Pros- Fun RPG's Good Spells Incredible plot 2 endings no wait FOUR ENDINGS! 2 files Figments and Anihallators

War-Torn Cons- Fairly easy lousy endings some RPG battles cut it way to close. Matt retired before finishing the sequel

So is it really worth the time. Definitely, Madguy/ Matt Dabrowski has been my favorite ZZTer for years and Wartorn is probably my favorite game. (2nd is probably November Eve but that's different) With graphics that are still nice today and the incredible plot this game is still fun after you get both of your endings!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Feb 6, 2023


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating