🗝️ZZT Syndromes

Author
Barjesse
Genre
Help
Company
Size
19.4 KB
Boards
29 / 29
Rating
4.81 / 5.00
Sort:

A master guide by a master maker

By: Dark-Star88
Reviewed: 5 years, 1 month ago (June 27, 2017)

Short enough to go through in one sitting, long enough to cover every common tooth-grinding frustration in so many bad ZZT games, complete with a very down-to-earth way of showing what NOT to do when creating one's own ZZT world. And it also has the distinction of being the first ever ZZT "how to" guide that was actually MADE in ZZT, making it all the more understandable to novices. The good influence Barjesse has had on ZZT game creation over the years can only be guessed at. We probably owe more than a few bad games that became good and a few good games that became great to his helpful little guide. If you are even thinking of making a ZZT game with more boards than you have fingers, this guide is indispensable if you give even half a hoot about quality. Play before you program. The rest of us will thank you.<br /> <br /> As icing on the cake, Barjesse's lemony narration is actually so good that even if you don't intend to make a serious ZZT game you might well want to go through the whole thing just for the chuckles.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Dark-Star88

Thanks

By: Archangel
Reviewed: 14 years, 3 months ago (May 16, 2008)

Good job, I'll give you a 5 for hitting all those annoying syndromes, even though you missed unsolvable puzzles.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Archangel

Great!

By: thematrixeatsyou
Reviewed: 15 years, 11 months ago (Aug. 24, 2006)

This one cracks me up... i can sorta relate to these. If you're gonna make a game, then you MUST download this. Ping Pong Path Syndrome is bloody annoying...


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by thematrixeatsyou

Great guide.

By: Nicholas
Reviewed: 18 years, 6 months ago (Jan. 30, 2004)

The first time I got this, it was very helpful. As a matter of fact, most of the bad ZZT games that I have played have one or more of the things outlined. Also, it doesn't just tell you about it, It is an interactive one.

PS: If you want to make a good ZZT game, get this guide. IT DOES HELP!!!!!


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Nicholas

Untitled Review

By: Max Gene
Reviewed: 18 years, 9 months ago (Nov. 9, 2003)

My friend used to really suck at making games.

He still does.

But we're both better because of this. This rocks!


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Max Gene

Untitled Review

By: dave2
Reviewed: 18 years, 9 months ago (Nov. 9, 2003)

It's a good help guide for ZZT (I personally liked WCB's "Crimes" better) it's full of information that's already pretty much globally known (lol don't use yellow borders k?) and a lot of the graphics are hard to look at. It gets 3.5 for still being the first in-ZZT ZZT help guide.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by dave2

Good medicine for mistakes

By: Caspar
Reviewed: 18 years, 9 months ago (Nov. 3, 2003)

This program can tell you what can go wrong in a zzt game.

So if you're a beginner, then ZZT Syndromes is just what the doctor ordered.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Caspar

Very Good Help from the master

By: Daft2
Reviewed: 19 years, 4 months ago (March 23, 2003)

Barjesse, This is the BEST help walkthrough I have Ever seen from the guru of gamemaking, totally recomend it.

Please, If you really stink at making games, then get this, NOW!!!


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Daft2

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating