Sonic the Hedgehog ZZT

Released
Jul 16, 2003
Genre
Action
Company
Size
58.0 KB
Boards
66 / 76
Rating
3.00 / 5.00
Sort:

a marginal reflection on the dissolution of humani

By: bummy
Reviewed: 17 years, 12 months ago (Oct 1, 2004)

a wonderous breeze of a zzt file, it fills me with that feeling that only the most special of computer-orientated videogames can inspire.

this is truly a work of art like no other, my heart was a-flutter within minutes of witnessing the luscious beaty that was the opening bytes of the inital board, presented as a title screen.

what followed was many hours of engrossing, titilating, overwhelming, and downright absorbing enlightenment that captured my mind as well as my soul. mr t-800, you have outdone yourself. i cannot understand why this is not a featured game, or why no-one has recognised it's revolutionary appeal as of yet.

if any zzt file were to be labeled as re-defining the zzt game creation engine as a tool for the creation of art, wonder, and splendor, this would be it.

please, give this game the true credit it deserves.

graphics - 5/5 (marvelous) sound - 5/5 (the orginal zzt soundtrack has never been present with so much amorosity) gameplay - 5/5 (a joy to play time and time again)

overall - 5/5

download immediately. you will not be regret.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by bummy

Bit crap, really.

By: Max Gene
Reviewed: 17 years, 12 months ago (Oct 1, 2004)

I didn't exactly enjoy this, and I'm biased in its direction being a Sonic fan. Instead of spin dash, or even a cheap copy, Sonic now has a gun and 30,000 ammo. The game's good ending is impossible, and you can't even play the final battle with cheats. Rings were also a headache, since objects stop you when you touch them.

Too slow for a Sonic game, bad bosses, bad programming, and Sonic has a gun. This would've gotten something better if we used any other series here.


Rating: 1.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Max Gene

Sonic has a gun?

By: Red
Reviewed: 17 years, 12 months ago (Sep 29, 2004)

Since when does sonic pack heat?????????

Good game, one oft he first i played.


Rating: 3.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Red

Umm.. Guys?

By: Homz
Reviewed: 18 years, 10 months ago (Nov 6, 2003)

This game may be good for Sonic fans, who won't play any other ZZT games, but for ZZT afficiandos, this is sure to be a dissapointment.

The graphics, for the most part, are fairly good, but at times, they lack the polish necessary to furnish a whole point. - .5

The Programming is sub average- .5

And most importantly, the gameplay exists of little besides pre-fab enemy shooting: -1

Unless this is you style of game, miss it.

I must admit that I didn't even play much of the game, but from what little I played, I can safely give this game a 2. Brain Bomber tried, but not hard enough. He obviously doesn't know that pre-fab enemy killing is OUT OF STYLE :( .


Rating: 2.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Homz

Untitled Review

By: Max
Reviewed: 18 years, 10 months ago (Nov 3, 2003)

This was fairly good for the most part, but because of the fact that Dr. Robotnik got one of the emeralds, you cannot enter the final battle because when it checks your emeralds, it tries taking 7 where the maximum is 6. Even if you zap through to the passage, you'll be put out of the controls for the engine. Fine other than that.


Rating: 3.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Max

Sonic The Hedgehog 4: ZZT

By: (Com)Buster
Reviewed: 18 years, 11 months ago (Oct 15, 2003)

You play as the famous Sonic the Hedgehog. In the beginning of the game he is walking around until he got hit by a robot. Seeing the creature, he knows that dr. Eggman (For me better known by his second name Robotnik) wants again to transform all creatures into robots.

After playing the first level Sonic finds Dr Eggman which like any other evil person tells him about his plan, before escaping. He also tells that he has captured his friends Tails and Knuckles as part of his plan.

In the next two levels, Sonic frees his two friends and decides it is time to go after Dr. Eggman

At the end of the fourth level Sonic witnesses Dr. Eggman taking a chaos emerald, which gives him extra power.

In the fifth and sixth level Sonic chases the scientist until he gets to his space station, where they will fight again. Sonic ruins the plans of dr Eggman, but the scentist will escape only to make up new plans.

In the course of the game Sonic can find the chaos emeralds in the bonus levels. If sonic has collected all seven, he will transform into super sonic and the game continues so that sonic can finish off Dr. Eggman.

The game is easy to play, but it is not too difficult to do. The game is separated by scenes which unravel the plot The graphics are of good quality. The plot is logical and almost flawless, and could be very well the basis of Sonic the Hedgehog 4 The programming is unfortunately not perfect. There are some bugs, (most of them in the last few levels), and there is one passage in the wrong color so that the player will get stuck when going through. After playing this game, I started up the genesis and played Sonic 3 (Sonic & Knuckles) for the comparison. Difference no.1 I MISS MUSIC. The only play commands I've found is at the menu (when you change selection). Though this is not much of a problem if you have problems with your pc speaker ;)

Statistics

gameplay: good: 1pt graphics: good: 1pt plot: YAY: 1pt programming: bugs: .5 pt sounds 'n music: ZZT sounds only: 0pt

Adding together gives a (no music was a shame) good mark:


Rating: 3.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by (Com)Buster

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Sep 28, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating