Respite

Author
Company
Released
Genre
Size
52.9 KB
Rating
4.86 / 5.00
(7 Reviews)
Board Count
22 / 31
Sort:
Submitted By
Zguy78
Date
19 years, 1 month ago (May 02, 2005)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This is one of my all time favorites by Madtom, I played it a long time ago though and was really inpressed. Overall Kickass game.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Scorch3000
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (Sep 26, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Man, i know a good game when i see one, and this is a great game. Had a rather good story (for a DC), the main character acted human (unlike some holy people), the 2nd character (the healer) was a bit of a pervert (not the only thing he's looking at?), and the engine was rather good (better then my engines). A big, wacking 5

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Quantum P.
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (Sep 26, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

A very good game. Excellent gameplay, beautiful graphics, and great sound. One small detail: Having to wait through that ending music before the game will end, without anything to look at other than a still picture. Still, a lot of effort was put into it...

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
ZZDevelin
Date
20 years, 11 months ago (Jun 29, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

well i have to agree with anarchy and JohnWWells this is a great game in fact il say this eclipses psyche and is just as good as burlglar this has great cutscene graphics considering MadTom is not CoolZx but really this is the best dungeon game ive played and ive played a whole damn lot of them anyways i'm wasting bandwitch here and il stop now

Graphics: 7.9/10 Sound N/A (stupid computer i cant here no ZZT sound or music anywhere!? Plot: 10/10 (nice ending ha! aurora ha! Gameplay: 10/10 niiiiiiceeee! Overall: 8.9/10 rounded to 9/10 rounded to...

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
chronox
Date
21 years ago (Jun 13, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This game is ADOM. With cussing. Rather forced cussing, and sexual innuendo. All were put in to make the game different-- perhaps the author is trying to make a dungeon crawl funny? Well anyway, in area of comedy, this game gets onthing. Every time you kill an enemy, your character says something retarded like "OMG UR HOT AND STRONG" or "MUSCLE BITCH STRUTTIN HER SHIT" or whatever. My point is, the "comedy" was completely unnecessary, and it wasn't funny.

However, the game was good. You basically run around and hit things, occasionally shooting them. The enemies are stupid, and it's very easy to get succesive hits on them, so the whole game is pretty much press up a bunch of times until the enemy dies. Nothing new.

But, it also has two little gimmicks stolen from ADOM: Sacrificing and Praying! When you kill something, you can burn it to make Kung-Fu Jesus or whatever love you more! Then you can pray to him and he'll like you less! Oh what fun!

The game is good, but not perfect, like the people above stated.

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
JohnWWells
Date
21 years, 2 months ago (Apr 02, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

The dungeon crawl is hardly a neglected genre of ZZT game. Generally, the gameplay involves conserving torches and ammo, beating hordes of monsters, and eventually facing some kind of end boss. It takes skill to add something new to the formula.

Madtom does so superbly. A few elements of strategy raise Respite above the endless stream of identical games that I've seen. In particular, a system of sacrifices and prayers adds a role-playing element that the game would otherwise lack, and a series of "challenges" revealed at the end of the game (trying to get through without praying, for example) greatly enhance replayability.

There's just enough personality and plot in Respite to keep things moving. The writing isn't brilliant, but it's acceptable, which is better than just about any other ZZT game I've seen. It's not Burglar!, but it doesn't have to be. It's a dungeon crawl.

One word: this is not an easy game. At a few points, it can get pretty hairy. On the other hand, there's considerable fun in killing your first Grendel...

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Anarchy
Date
21 years, 2 months ago (Mar 28, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Another one of MadTom's famous games.. Good sides : - Great graphics(especially the chars) - ADOM-like interface(funn,i like adom) - It is damn funny(yessir)

Bad sides : - NONE!(how wonderful) I have a question for MadTom though: "Do you make your own games go to MTP?"

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

Give Feedback

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.
Additionally, you may place text behind a spoiler tag by wrapping it in two pipe characters (ex: ||this is hidden||).

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0

If any box is checked, feedback must be tagged with at least one checked tag

Used to prevent automated accounts. Avoid interacting with this field.

Feedback can only be provided on a file once every 24 hours for guests. Please sign in to a Museum of ZZT account if you wish to provide additional feedback.