Respite

Author
MadTom
Genre
Dungeon
Company
Size
52.9 KB
Boards
22 / 31
Rating
4.86 / 5.00
Sort:

Excellent game

By: Zguy78
Reviewed: 17 years, 2 months ago (May 2, 2005)

This is one of my all time favorites by Madtom, I played it a long time ago though and was really inpressed. Overall Kickass game.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Zguy78

Chronox is mad! We all are mad!

By: Scorch3000
Reviewed: 18 years, 9 months ago (Sept. 26, 2003)

Man, i know a good game when i see one, and this is a great game. Had a rather good story (for a DC), the main character acted human (unlike some holy people), the 2nd character (the healer) was a bit of a pervert (not the only thing he's looking at?), and the engine was rather good (better then my engines). A big, wacking 5


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Scorch3000

4.999/5

By: Quantum P.
Reviewed: 18 years, 9 months ago (Sept. 26, 2003)

A very good game. Excellent gameplay, beautiful graphics, and great sound. One small detail: Having to wait through that ending music before the game will end, without anything to look at other than a still picture. Still, a lot of effort was put into it...


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Quantum P.

chronox you mad *****!

By: ZZDevelin
Reviewed: 19 years ago (June 29, 2003)

well i have to agree with anarchy and JohnWWells this is a great game in fact il say this eclipses psyche and is just as good as burlglar this has great cutscene graphics considering MadTom is not CoolZx but really this is the best dungeon game ive played and ive played a whole damn lot of them anyways i'm wasting bandwitch here and il stop now

Graphics: 7.9/10 Sound N/A (stupid computer i cant here no ZZT sound or music anywhere!? Plot: 10/10 (nice ending ha! aurora ha! Gameplay: 10/10 niiiiiiceeee! Overall: 8.9/10 rounded to 9/10 rounded to...


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by ZZDevelin

A stripped down ADOM.

By: chronox
Reviewed: 19 years ago (June 13, 2003)

This game is ADOM. With cussing. Rather forced cussing, and sexual innuendo. All were put in to make the game different-- perhaps the author is trying to make a dungeon crawl funny? Well anyway, in area of comedy, this game gets onthing. Every time you kill an enemy, your character says something retarded like "OMG UR HOT AND STRONG" or "MUSCLE BITCH STRUTTIN HER SHIT" or whatever. My point is, the "comedy" was completely unnecessary, and it wasn't funny.

However, the game was good. You basically run around and hit things, occasionally shooting them. The enemies are stupid, and it's very easy to get succesive hits on them, so the whole game is pretty much press up a bunch of times until the enemy dies. Nothing new.

But, it also has two little gimmicks stolen from ADOM: Sacrificing and Praying! When you kill something, you can burn it to make Kung-Fu Jesus or whatever love you more! Then you can pray to him and he'll like you less! Oh what fun!

The game is good, but not perfect, like the people above stated.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by chronox

A very good dungeon crawl.

By: JohnWWells
Reviewed: 19 years, 3 months ago (April 2, 2003)

The dungeon crawl is hardly a neglected genre of ZZT game. Generally, the gameplay involves conserving torches and ammo, beating hordes of monsters, and eventually facing some kind of end boss. It takes skill to add something new to the formula.

Madtom does so superbly. A few elements of strategy raise Respite above the endless stream of identical games that I've seen. In particular, a system of sacrifices and prayers adds a role-playing element that the game would otherwise lack, and a series of "challenges" revealed at the end of the game (trying to get through without praying, for example) greatly enhance replayability.

There's just enough personality and plot in Respite to keep things moving. The writing isn't brilliant, but it's acceptable, which is better than just about any other ZZT game I've seen. It's not Burglar!, but it doesn't have to be. It's a dungeon crawl.

One word: this is _not_ an easy game. At a few points, it can get pretty hairy. On the other hand, there's considerable fun in killing your first Grendel...


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by JohnWWells

Respite

By: Anarchy
Reviewed: 19 years, 3 months ago (March 28, 2003)

Another one of MadTom's famous games.. Good sides : - Great graphics(especially the chars) - ADOM-like interface(funn,i like adom) - It is damn funny(yessir)

Bad sides : - NONE!(how wonderful) I have a question for MadTom though: "Do you make your own games go to MTP?"


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Anarchy

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: July 5, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating