Sort:
Submitted By
Scorch
Date
19 years, 8 months ago (Sep 25, 2004)
Tags
Review
Feedback

My title says it all. This game may be great (for an puzzle game, usually i can't stand puzzles), but when i first played this game, i exited ZZT an hour or so later, with a bad headache. Those puzzles did my head right in. Scores kudos for all the anti-cheat modules.

4.5/5

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
Rothul
Date
19 years, 9 months ago (Sep 05, 2004)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Pretty much the same thing as the other reviews have said, (GREAT) but I will say this... this game lifts cheater-busting to a new level.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
DareU2Move
Date
19 years, 9 months ago (Aug 25, 2004)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This was a great puzzle game. There were many things you had to do to get out of the nightmare. It was really creative!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
koolj
Date
20 years, 5 months ago (Dec 31, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This is a game with puzzels so difficult I just SCREAMED! However Im sure the author did all in his power to give the player a challange.......and he went all out. If you LOVE puzzels than this is for you, if your like me and are OK with puzzels here and there, then do not download. However it might be intresting for you to download it anyway and see the puzzels. The story is basic, (Get through my puzzels to save the people sorta thing), however it is intresting seeing how it's the sand man puting everyone to sleep forever, and to stop it you must gather the pices of your memory (something like that). However you look at it, Nightmare is a solid puzzle game. Im giving it a 4.5 just because the first puzzel stumped me and I dont like that. =(

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
Zephyr
Date
20 years, 7 months ago (Oct 30, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

It's not very often, you beat a ZZT game and feel accomplished/smarter. Nightmare is one of the few. Usually puzzle games just frustruate me and I quit halfway through. Barjesse's Nightmare keeps you interested, and entertained the whole time.

Gameplay: The puzzles are difficult, creative, and original. This is definitely the selling point of the game. So incredibly ingenious.

Plot: The plot really isn't that great, but hey! It's a puzzle game!! I won't share the details here.

Graphics: The graphics aren't too bad, considering this is pretty old. They get the job done, and don't detract from the game.

Music: What? Wasn't there, wasn't really needed.

Overall, this is one of my favorite games, and one of my two favorite puzzle games(Winter is the other). It's a classic game that needs to be played. Don't ingore it.

5/5

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Metronome
Date
21 years, 3 months ago (Mar 20, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Hmmm... I can tell this game is really old, and for that, it gets tons of kudos. But so much empty space... it gets SO boring at times... aaaagghhh. But it was special and innovative for its day, and it has its charm (the puzzles are truly unique... see them for yourself). definitely worth the download.

Rating
4.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Trapbocks
Date
21 years, 9 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I was blown away when i first played this! This game rocks! Very good since 4 by jojoisjo!

The puzzles are more addicting than crack! We're talking puzzles from the nile river! These will definetly satisfy your Zzt taste!

Also what i like about it is the graphics. Other than the blinkies in the first board, this game has the right art to satisfy me! Definetly download this game or else!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Benco
Date
21 years, 9 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

his game is, hands down, one of my favorite zzt games of all time. Clever puzzles, decent graphics and excelent programming rolled together to form some puzzley goodness that keeps me warm all night long. You can see that a lot of my games were influenced by this game. I think I'll listen what games of mine HAD been influenced by this game now:

The swamp Puzzle in Conspiracies The title screen in LOST the name LOST err.. there's more, probably.

Anyways, this is a very fine game that shows off just HOW unique puzzles can be in ZZT. There simple aren't enough games like this being made today. Games this clever, this well thought out and this thought provoking. Good job barjesse, we miss ya

Pros: Fun gameplay and interesting puzzles Cons: Majorly dated graphics

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
John W Wells
Date
21 years, 9 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Nightmare, by the author of the excellent ZZT Syndromes, is a solid puzzle game with cleverly designed obstacles and passable writing. Aside from being a good few hours of fun, it offers proof that older ZZT games did not necessarily involve yellow borders, pre-generated monsters, and laughable dialogue.

A few minor puzzles, such as the multiple choice riddles, seemed tacked-on, but most are competent and challenging, and easily surpass the gameplay of the majority of recent releases. Oh... and don't cheat. Barjesse doesn't like that, and it won't help much, anyway.

Pros: Excellent puzzles, good overall design, good visuals for its time Cons: Somewhat trite plot.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

Give Feedback

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.
Additionally, you may place text behind a spoiler tag by wrapping it in two pipe characters (ex: ||this is hidden||).

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0

If any box is checked, feedback must be tagged with at least one checked tag

Used to prevent automated accounts. Avoid interacting with this field.

Feedback can only be provided on a file once every 24 hours for guests. Please sign in to a Museum of ZZT account if you wish to provide additional feedback.